F is for Fangirl

I admit it: I’m a shameless fangirl of writers.

I can’t help it. As a reader, I’ve always admired writers and the stories they told. Now that I’m a writer, I know just how much work goes into their craft, and I have nothing but unbridled respect and admiration.

When I decided in 2014 to write a story, maybe a novella, no a novel, no how about three, five, eight–anyway, when I decided to do this, the first thing I did was join writing groups on Facebook. I wanted to be around other writers, learn about their craft. I found one group that was especially good and appropriate for me — 10 Minute Novelists. It gave me the opportunity to rub elbows with REAL LIVE WRITERS! People who published books and everything!

And I became a fangirl.

As a new and untried author, there was little I could contribute to this august group other than raw enthusiasm. But there was one thing I could do. I could read and review their books.

I don’t have nearly as much time as I would like to read, but do want to support fellow independent authors. So, I have been writing reviews, which is like gold for any author. It helps an author not only get valuable feedback, but it also gauges the popularity of authors and helps them get publicity from Amazon and other sources.

Below is a list of a few favorites whose books I’ve enjoyed over the past few months. I encourage you to check out their sites.

Katharine Grubb is the founder of Ten Minute Novelists, the Facebook group I credit for teaching me how to be a writer. The premise is that even the busiest people, like history teachers, can still find time to pursue their writing dreams. I joined for the time-crunched sympathy. I stayed for the camaraderie and her invisible food tables. (You have to join if you want to know more about that.)

I turned into a fangirl when I read her novel Falling for your Madness. I adore this book.511RatmMg7L._SX304_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg (306×499) I read it and immediately read it again. It’s such a cool, quirky story, a new direction in romance, and it has inspired my own novel in so many ways. If you like romance, read
this. Trust me. Her next novel, Soulless Creatures, is even more innovative and fun. Her book Writing a Novel in Ten Minutes a Day has been an invaluable tool as both a writer and a time-crunched human being. When I got an autographed copy of it in the mail, I squeed like a fool… that’s when I realized the depths of my fangirldom.

K.M. Weiland is not only a talented writer, she is an exceptionally gifted writing teacher. Her website, Helping Writers Become Authors, has been my first go-to when I had writing questions, so I went ahead and picked up her writing books. I just received her newest novel, a diesel-punk romp called Storming, and I love it so far.

41z6-AV-TuL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg (333×499)Quenby Olson is a lovely person and a writer with smooth prose and enjoyable stories. Her Austen influences are clear, especially in the book I just finished, Knotted. My only complaint was that the story ended too soon for me! (Sequel! Sequel!)

Jane Steen is a talented historical fiction writer whom I admire greatly. I recently finished her novel The House of Closed Doors and I look forward to reading the next books in the series. Honestly, my To Read Pile grows very deep.

Carolyn Astfalk is the author I’m currently reading. Her book Stay With Me is a sweet romance that discusses some important religious themes as well.

Olivia Fulmar Ard is my dear friend and mentor. She is so special to me that she will get her own letter in my Blogging #AtoZChallenge. But for now, here is her Amazon page, in case you’re curious about her work.

Yeah, I’m a shameless fangirl. Come join me in my squee-worthy author love and feel all the feels!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Chatting with the Readers

Leave a Reply

