I is for Inspiration

A surprising amount of my stories’ plots come from listening to popular music and making them apply to my characters. Now that I’ve typed that sentence, I’m not so sure I should admit that. But I’m coming clean here.

So for my Letter “I” entry today, I thought I’d share with you some of the songs I’ve been listening to that have subtly (or otherwise) contributed ideas for Shadow of the Portico. I’ve added YouTube links where I can. I actually have a ridiculously long playlist, but let’s just start with these.

Too Close – Alex Clare. Shadow starts with a break-up, and this song feels like it nails what was happening with Giovanni. Also, very cool video. I also think For No One by The Beatles has some poignant lines for a couple about to break up.

Thinking Out Loud – Ed Sheeran. My kids are so sick of this song, but they know it’s my jam. “People fall in love in mysterious ways / Maybe just the touch of a hand.” If you want more information about that line, be sure to read Chapter One of Shadow of the Portico. Oh, and that video… I’m becoming a big Ed Sheeran fan, just saying.

Falling in Love at a Coffee Shop – Landon Pigg. Again, if you don’t get the reference, read Chapter One, linked in the previous song. Such a pretty song!

Dog Days are Over – Florence + the Machine. This song is edgy like Sarah, and her dodging and hiding from happiness as it hits her is perfect.

Rude – Magic! Of course, Sarah’s father, Doug, doesn’t approve of Giovanni. I can see him singing this to Doug, “Why you gotta be so rude / I’m gonna marry her anyway.”

From Eden – Hozier. The contrast between a dark, traumatized character and a light, innocent one reminds me of Niccolo and Emilia, my two characters from 1578 Bologna. “Honey, you’re familiar like my mirror years ago.”

Demons – Imagine Dragons. Beautifully written song, but the lines “Your eyes they shine so bright / I want to save that light / I can’t escape this now / Unless you show me how” are so perfectly written for a hopeless Niccolo and his hope, Emilia.

Let Her Go – Passenger. Let’s just say that Giovanni and Sarah’s path to love isn’t an easy one.

I Won’t Give Up – Jason Mraz. A perfect love song. “And just like them old stars / I see that you’ve come so far / To be right where you are / How old is your soul?”

 

4 Comments

Filed under Chatting with the Readers

4 responses to “I is for Inspiration

  1. Music is great for inspiration. The lyrics “he only wears that hat to cover up his horns” led to the creation of one of my favorite characters.

    Thanks for sharing your inspiration and thought processes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha, I love that lyric! 😀

    Like

  3. maggiemcg

    You’ve got so many awesome songs on this list: I adore “Falling in Love at a Coffee Shop” is one of my many favorites, though I haven’t listened to it in a while. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

