M is for Musicians, Especially Cute Ones

Sometime in the summer of 1994, when I was working in sales and marketing in the depths of Orange County, California, I received an interesting message on my voice mail. Nothing was said. It was just a drum beat and some chords on a keyboard, then a ripping lead guitar solo. I was mildly befuddled by this, as you could imagine. Thankfully, before I could delete it, I received an email from my friend in Texas claiming ownership. “If you hear some malfeasant playing guitar in your phone, that’s me.”

The friend in Texas was about to become much more than a friend.

Bobs Guitar

My Darling Husband on his birthday this year with his gift from me… a Fender Strat and Fender Amp.

My now-husband Bob is a very talented guitarist and an outstanding instinctive musician. He doesn’t read music, but his ear is extraordinary.

Since I appreciate his talent so much, I have given my main character, Giovanni, the same ability. Because who doesn’t lust after the guitarist? Especially one who’s tall with broad shoulders and long, red curls. I mean tall and Italian with long dark wavy hair.

But I digress.

I’m also a musician. A band/orchestra/choir nerd in high school, I majored in Music Education at a conservatory for a couple years before I decided that perhaps being a band director one day wasn’t really for me. I still play now and then, sometimes the bass, though these days the mandolin, which I’m enjoying despite the pain in my poor, now uncalloused fingertips. I’m working on that.

The great thing about writing novels is that whole wish fulfillment thing. I can make my characters exceptionally good musicians, even though I wasn’t every more than a mildly passable one. I can make them charming, brilliant, insightful. Exceptional. In fact, since I’m writing a story that is ostensibly paranormal fantasy, I can take it way into the next level.

In my novel series, the Journeymen are not only able to travel through time, they have a unique genetic code. This genetic quirk, as I call it, tends to give them artistic talents that we mere mortals can only envy. Hey, who knows, maybe Eric Clapton or Salvador Dali or <fill in the blank of an artist you admire> is secretly a Journeyman.

In fact, they can do all kinds of intriguing things. But I don’t want to spoil it for you. I want you to read the books!

I do have one more thing to share, though. Early in the novel, we find that Sarah, Giovanni’s beloved, is also a talented musician. In the story, she brings Giovanni to tears playing a mournful Chopin nocturne. For your listening pleasure, here is that nocturne. It probably won’t make you cry… Giovanni was just in a bad place. Anyway, enjoy!

Claudio Arrrau performing Chopin’s Nocturne No.21 in C-Minor

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chatting with the Readers

One response to “M is for Musicians, Especially Cute Ones

  1. Nilanjana Bose

    Who can resist a charming musician?! Here from the A-z, and well done on keeping up!

    Nilanjana
    Madly-in-Verse

    Like

Leave a Reply

