Going to Italy!

It’s official. God willing, my two sons and I are going to Bologna over Christmas. Reservations made and paid. Ohmigosh.

I haven’t really wrapped my mind around it yet. Not only is this the city where my novels are set, it’s freaking Europe. I’ve been fascinated (obsessed may be more accurate) with Europe since the beginning. Now we’re going.

The only bummer is that my husband cannot get enough time off and will not be joining us. That means lots of videos, which I will likely share with you all, too. Prepare for a deluge.

We’ll be there two weeks, mostly in Bologna and making side trips to Venice, Florence, and Rome. We’ll also probably get over to Imola and maybe even Modena and Ferrara, which are all mentioned in the book.

I have to tell you about the hotel, though.

It’s next door to the Palazzo dei Notai, which is the Notary’s Guild where my character Niccolo Bruni worked. During the period my novels are set, notaries were the legal scribes of the community. Not quite lawyers, they did record legal documents, and they were in a position of community trust in that they attested to the veracity of those legal transactions. Their signature was all that was necessary to do this.

Having said all that, the Art Hotel Commercianti is just behind the Palazzo dei Notai, down a narrow street, almost an alley, adjacent to the massive Basilica di San Petronio. In the thirteenth century, the building housed the Brentitori guild, those who made wine carriers called brente. Wearing these brentes on their backs, these wine carriers were experts about the wines they traded. They also served as volunteer firefighters, since they were used to carrying around water anyway. 

I’ve written about San Petronio before on my blog. It is Bologna’s civic church that found itself in something of a competition with the Cattedrale Metropolitana di San Pietro, the Catholic archbishop’s seat in the city. That bishop was none other than Cardinal Gabriele Paleotti, who is a character in Shadow of the Portico based on the historical figure.

San Petronio, meanwhile, was supported by my fictional character, Lorenzo Croce. Oh, politics!

So yeah, we’re staying right there. Right flippy-dippy there.

Seriously… a room with a view! Art Hotel Commercianti. (Photo courtesy of ixigo.com)

I’m going to be totally honest, I feel sorry for my two teenage gamer boys. They are going to have to deal with more history geeking than anyone ever should.

As you can imagine, I’ll have a lot to say about this trip over the coming months, and I’ll be sharing it here. To say I’m excited doesn’t scratch the surface, and I hope you’ll enjoy and geek out with me!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Chatting with the Readers, Trip To Italy 2016

3 responses to “Going to Italy!

  1. So excited for you! I’ll have to watch your blog and follow you on your trip! Sounds like a dream come true!

    Like

  2. Congrats! I’m sure it will be fabulous. Looking forward to living vicariously through your trip. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

